House of Night: Revealed

Ashley Tisdale as Aphrodite

Ashley Tisdale as Aphrodite

darius house of night

Don’t know his name, but he is close to how I picture Darius

Heath house of night

Again, don’t know his name, but he is pretty much spot-on how I picture Heath

Stark

Stark

Victoria Justice Zoey

Victoria Justice as Zoey

From Goodreads:

“Drastically altered after her fall at the end of Hidden, Neferet is now more dangerous than ever–and her quest for vengeance will wreak havoc on humans, as well as Zoey and her friends. Chaos is loosed in Tulsa and the House of Night is blamed. Can Zoey stop Neferet in time to keep her anger from escalating to full-on war? Or will someone else have to step in to take the fall?”

I normally can’t get enough of whatever series I’m reading, and am very saddened when they end, like I am saying goodbye to a really good friend that I won’t see again for a very long time. But then there is this series. The only reason I have continued reading this is because once I start something, I have to see it through. I don’t like leaving things unfinished. I also really like Heath, though there are only small glimpses of him throughout this book. The problem could be that I’m getting older, and expect more out of the stories I read and from the authors, but I don’t think that is entirely it. The quality started off really good in the series, and I think started going downhill after Awakened, which, when I read it, was really excellent. But again, my opinion could change if I re-read it. This really should have been a 9-book series, at most. The storyline is getting so dragged out. This book in particular was absolutely pointless. Probably could have skipped it and just read the next one, it was that devoid of anything happening. I am tired of most of the characters, especially Neferet (why, oh why, has this one not been killed yet and replaced with a different conflict?), Stevie Rae, Zoey, and Stark. Heath, Aphrodite, and Kalona are the only ones that I still like, or can even stand. The dialogue has gone way, way down. I think the authors have taken it upon themselves to see how much they can dumb down the English language. I realize this is YA, but teens don’t really talk like that, and it’s insulting to them to write like they do. I really hope the next book will be the last one.

One comment on “House of Night: Revealed

  1. I was looking at my perfect Heath, and thinking, I KNOW that face from somewhere, other than in my head. Looked good and hard, then I realized, that is Zach Roerig, who plays Matt Donovan from Vampire Diaries, when he was younger and with darker, longer hair.

Leave a Reply

